, , , , , , , , ,

The list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes is a tool to tackle:

  • Tax fraud or evasion;
  • Illegal non-payment or underpayment of obligations;
  • Use of legal means to minimise tax liabilities and money laundering;
  • Concealment of origins of illegally obtained money.

The EU blacklists countries that encourage abusive tax practices that erode member states’ corporate tax revenues. Member states can act together to press for reform. The aim is not to “name and shame” countries but rather to encourage positive change in fiscal legislation and practices through cooperation. Once a jurisdiction is compliant, it can be removed from the European Union’s blacklist.